World Cup 2018 Golden Glove Prediction

Betting Odds & Predictions for the Top Contenders of Golden Glove Award World Cup 2018

As the Football World Cup is approaching near, all the fans have their eyes set on their favorite teams and players. Along with seeing the teams they support win, everyone is also looking forward to the awards of the tournament, hoping their favorite players get their hands on the titles they deserve.

Awards in different categories are given at the end of every World Cup tournament and, Golden Glove award for the best Goalkeeper is one of them as the performance of goalkeeper strengthens the defense of the team and increases the winning possibilities. 
The importance of the award reflects from the fact that the teams whose players won this award in the last three tournaments also emerged as the winners of the tournaments, as seen in the table given below

Year Previous Gold Glove Winners Previous Golden Glove Winners Player
2014 Germany Manuel Neuer- Germany
2010 Spain Iker Casillas - Spain
2006 Italy Gianluigi Buffon - Italy

What is the Golden Glove Award?

Golden Glove Award is given to the best goalkeeper of the tournament and was formerly known as Lev Yashin award. The winner of the award is decided by FIFA Technical Study Group, who determines the best goalkeeper of the tournament based on the player's performance. Along with recognizing the best player.

This award has been given in every tournament since 1994, but was formerly known as Yashin award and was renamed as the Golden Glove award in 2010.Golden Glove award is given to the goalkeeper who has shown top-notch performance throughout the tournament. 

Although all the players have the potential to emerge as the best to help their teams win the World cup title, looking at the stats, the strongest competitors for the award are going to be.

Allison Ramses Becker (Brazil)

After keeping five consecutive clean sheets (number of goals stopped) in the Champion league, Becker is one of the strongest contenders who have the ability to get a Golden Glove for Brazil team. The Brazilian native stands 6ft 4 inches on the ground and has the qualities perfect for a goalkeeper with betting odds of 4/1. His best stats include reactions, strengths, vision, composure and have bagged him a FIFA rating of 80. Born in 1992, Becker Allision is all set to get the Adidas Golden Glove this World cup with his talent and perfect form to become the most expensive goalkeeper of the entire world.

De Gea David (Spain)

The winner of the Premiere league Golden Glove (2017 – 2018 ) & first player to claim United's Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year for consecutive three years, his potential to claim the Golden Glove in this World Cup cannot be questioned. Known for his consistency, agility and reflexes and shot-stopping abilities, David has made more than 300 appearances and has numerous awards to his credits.

Although the 27 years old will play his first FIFA international match, with so many achievements already by his side, his possibilities to become the best goalkeeper of the world and claim the Golden Glove cannot be overlooked. The betting odds of  De Gea David to get the Golden Glove for Spain are set at 9/2.

Neuer Manuel (Germany)

The Winner of the Golden Glove award last year, Neur Manuel from Germany appears on the list as the first promising player who may retain his title.  The 32 year was awarded the best goalkeeper won four consecutive years from International Federation of Football History & Statistics from the year 2013 – 2016 and was the first runner-up in the year 2011& 2017.  Although the fact he has not played the entire season since September after undergoing foot surgery but the long list of his achievements speak by themselves and make him one of the most eligible players with odds set at 5/1.

Hugo Lloris (France)

With tonnes of experience by his side that he has gathered since his debut for France Football team in FIFA 2008, a long international football career and his unmatchable skills, the potentials of Hugo Lloris bringing the Golden Glove title for France are unquestionable. The betting odds for this 31 years are set at 13/2. He has many eminent awards to his credit with the Best Goalkeeper of the year at London Football Awards being the latest addition to the list. His electric reflexes and excellent decision-making skills, has already bagged him the Goalkeeper of the Year Award at Ligue1 for three consecutive years and the player of the month award at UNFP and makes him an important competitor for the title.

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium) 

Thibaut Courtois made his debut in international Football team of Belgium as the youngest goalkeeper. The winner of the Premiere league Golden Glove of the year 2017 and the London Football Awards goalkeeper of the year 2015, he has won awards almost every season he has played in and his chances to win this title cannot be refuted. This 26-year-old also played the 2014 FIFA World Cup and managed to keep 6 clean sheets in the 10 matchesand was the youngest goalkeeper of the Belgium National Team. Known as a 'complete goalkeeper', the list of the abilities that Thibaut has are infinite and so are his winning potentials, betting odds for him are 8/1.

Jordon Pickford

Jordon Pickford (England) who is set to make his debut in FIFA World Cup after representing England team at all the levels from under-16 to under-21.

After winning the England Under 21 Player of the Year Award and Everton Young Player of the Season in 2017, he is another strong contender who has already demonstrated his skills at international level. 
Born in 1994, this 24-year-old has a lot of experience of playing at international level, he has 97% success rate on claiming crosses with his aerial prowess, and  a wonderful positioning, diving and handling skills, that get him betting odds of 16/1 putting him in a promising position to claim the Golden Glove Award.

Other Potential Winners

The competition to take away the title of the Golden Glove is not just limited to the players mentioned above, the other players who have the potential to claim the Golden Glove title this World Cup include.

The players like Willy Caballero and Rui Patricio are equally equipped to bring the titles for Portuguese and Argentina with their convincing goalkeeping skills. 

Guillermo Ochoa, playing for the Brazilian team is another strong competitor after having played the 2014 World cup and being chosen as the man of the match twice in his career. After making four saves in the last world cup his probabilities of getting his hands on the title are equally high.

Danijel Subasic from Croatia and Uruguay’s Fernando Muslera along with David Ospina playing for Arsenal, who is also the second youngest player to play as a goalkeeper in the Colombian team, are some other players that may get lucky as they get a chance to grab the Golden Glove title.

Who will win 2018 World Cup Golden Glove?

icon0 VOTE

Recommended Free Bets & Bonus Offers For football

Get access to free bets and bonuses from top football betting sites. Latest promotional offers are available for both New and existing customers!
begambleaware | 18+ T&C* aaply



Welcome Bonus


$1, 000 Welcome Bonus



Welcome Bonus



Free Bet

View All

begambleaware | 18+ T&C* aaply